clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nyassi Scored, Moreno Didn't - What next?

This isn't a standard complaint about referees. Those are too frequent in sports, but recently with the USSF ruling that Nyassi was in fact onside against the Union and should be credited with a goal (who had the non-assist?) and today's notice that Jaime Moreno should have been given a Yellow Card and not a goal things get interesting.

What should be done? Should the official stats be changed? Should independent sites change their statistics?

In neither case would the W-L-D results shift, but tie-breakers can and often do come down to a single goal differential. Oddly enough, the Union both lose a GD and gain one in these two incidents.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Sounder At Heart Weekly Roundup newsletter!

A twice weekly roundup of Seattle Sounders and OL Reign news from Sounder at Heart