clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MLS Releases 2011 Schedule: All Six Cascadia Cup Matches Will Be On Weekends

New, 58 comments

All six of the Cascadia Cup matches will be played on weekends, which should at least waylay some of the fears supporters had about travel arrangements. The first of the games will be played on May 14 with the Seattle Sounders hosting the Portland Timbers. The Sounders will host the Vancouver Whitecaps on June 11. The Sounders will make their visit to PGE Park on July 10 and will visit Vancouver on Sept. 24.

The Sounders will play two matches on ESPN and three more on ESPN2. That is the third most of any team, as the New York Red Bulls will be on ESPN/ESPN2 eight times and the LA Galaxy will be on six times.

The Sounders will never have to take a roadtrip longer than two matches. Their tightest roadtrip appears to be May 4-7 when they will visit DC United and the Columbus Crew four days apart. Their toughest roadtrip is likely May 28-June 4 when they visit Real Salt Lake and the Chicago Fire.

Unlike last year, their schedule is pretty balanced with home game No. 8 coming in Game 16. It is worth noting that three of their final four games of the season will be on the road with games at Vancouver, New England and Chivas USA. The Sounders' final home game is Oct. 15 against the San Jose Earthquakes.

The Sounders will are scheduled to play six games during the week, but just three of those will be at home. Those three home weekday matches are: March 15 against the Galaxy, May 25 against FC Dallas and June 23 against the New York Red Bulls. Single-game tickets will go on sale on March 1 at 10 a.m.

Complete schedule after the jump. You can also get a downloadable version at SoundersFC.com.

Day Date Opponent Time (PT) (National TV, all other games either on KING or KONG)

  • Tue. March 15 L.A. Galaxy 6:30 p.m. (ESPN/ESPN Deportes)
  • Sat. March 19 at New York Red Bulls 4:30 p.m.
  • Fri. March 25 Houston Dynamo 7:00 p.m. (FSC)
  • Sat. April 2 at San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 p.m.
  • Sat. April 9 Chicago Fire 1:00 p.m.
  • Sat. April 16 at Philadelphia Union 1:00 p.m.
  • Fri. April 22 at Colorado Rapids 6:30 p.m. (FSC)
  • Sat. April 30 Toronto FC 7:00 p.m.
  • Wed. May 4 at D.C. United 4:30 p.m.
  • Sat. May 7 at Columbus Crew 4:30 p.m.
  • Sat. May 14 Portland Timbers 8:00 p.m. (ESPN2/ESPN Deportes)
  • Sat. May 21 Sporting Kansas City 7:00 p.m.
  • Wed. May 25 FC Dallas 7:00 p.m.
  • Sat. May 28 at Real Salt Lake 6:00 p.m.
  • Sat. June 4 at Chicago Fire 5:30 p.m.
  • Sat. June 11 Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7:00 p.m. (FSC)
  • Sat. June 18 at Toronto FC 4:00 p.m.
  • Thr. June 23 New York Red Bulls 7:00 p.m. (ESPN2/ESPN Deportes)
  • Sun. June 26 New England Revolution 1:00 p.m.
  • Mon. July 4 at L.A. Galaxy 7:30 p.m. (ESPN2/ESPN Deportes)
  • Sun. July 10 at Portland Timbers 2:00 p.m. (ESPN/ESPN Deportes)
  • Sat. July 16 Colorado Rapids 1:00 p.m. (FSC)
  • Sat. July 23 Philadelphia Union 7:00 p.m.
  • Sat. July 30 at Houston Dynamo 5:30 p.m.
  • Sat. August 6 at Sporting Kansas City 5:30 p.m.
  • Sat. August 13 Chivas USA 1:00 p.m.
  • Sat. August 20 at FC Dallas 6:00 p.m.
  • Sat. August 27 Columbus Crew 1:00 p.m.
  • Sat. Sept. 10 Real Salt Lake 1:00 p.m.
  • Sat. Sept. 17 D.C. United 6:00 p.m.
  • Sat. Sept. 24 at Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7:30 p.m.
  • Sat. October 1 at New England Revolution 4:30 p.m.
  • Sat. October 15 San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 p.m. (FSC)
  • Sat. October 22 at Chivas USA 7:30 p.m.