clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Clint Dempsey named to U.S. Soccer's All-Time Best XI

Kasey Keller finishes second to Brad Friedel to be the team's goalkeeper.

Kevork Djansezian

Clint Dempsey was among the players named to U.S. Soccer's All-Time Best XI on Friday. The Seattle Sounders Designated Player received 25 votes, which appears to have been the cutoff point for players to make the team. Kasey Keller finished second behind Brad Friedel as the team's goalkeeper.

The team was mostly dominated by players who are still active or who only recently retired. Five of the players are still active on the club level and none of them retired any earlier than 2000.

Given all that it's probably not particularly surprising that Landon Donovan was the runaway votes leader. He appeared on 52 of the 57 ballots, and is the country's leading scorer with 57 goals. Claudio Reyna and Brian McBride were tied with the second highest totals (45).

Goalkeeper - Brad Friedel 1992-2004 (25 votes)

Defender - Marcelo Balboa 1988-2000 (35 votes)

Defender - Carlos Bocanegra 2001-2012 (25 votes)

Defender - Steve Cherundolo 1999-2012 (25 votes)

Defender - Eddie Pope 1996-2006 (33 votes)

Midfielder - Clint Dempsey 2004-present (25 votes)

Midfielder - Landon Donovan 2000-present (52 votes)

Midfielder - Tab Ramos 1988-2000 (42 votes)

Midfielder - Claudio Reyna 1994-2006 (45 votes)

Forward - Brian McBride 1993-2006 (45 votes)

Forward - Eric Wynalda 1990-2000 (43 votes)

Vote totals

Goalkeepers: Brad Friedel 25 , Kasey Keller 14, Tim Howard 13, Tony Meola 4, Arnold Mausser 1, Frank Borghi 0, David Vanole 0

Defenders: Marcelo Balboa 35 , Eddie Pope 33, Carlos Bocanegra 25, Steve Cherundolo 25, Thomas Dooley 20, Paul Caligiuri 18, Jeff Agoos 16, Alexi Lalas 14, Frankie Hejduk 9, Harry Keough 6, Pablo Mastroeni 3, Fernando Clavijo 2, Tony Sanneh 2, Mike Windischmann 2, Gregg Berhalter 2, Desmond Armstrong 0, Jimmy Banks, Brian Bliss 0, Mike Burns 0, John Doyle 0, Mike Lapper 0, Oguchi Onyewu 0, Werner Roth 0

Midfielders: Landon Donovan 52 , Claudio Reyna 45, Tab Ramos 42, Clint Dempsey 25, Michael Bradley 20, Cobi Jones 12, Walter Bahr 6, John Harkes 6, Hugo Perez 3, Adolf Bachmeier 2, Rick Davis 2, John O'Brien 2, Al Trost 2, DaMarcus Beasley 1, Ed McIlvenny 1*, Joe-Max Moore 1, Brian Quinn 1, Mike Sorber 1, Chris Armas 0, Chris Henderson 0, Eddie Lewis 0, Preki 0, Ed Souza 0, John Souza 0

Forwards: Brian McBride 45 , Eric Wynalda 43, Earnie Stewart 16, Billy Gonsalves 7, Jozy Altidore 6, Peter Vermes 3, Joe Gaetjens 2, Archie Stark 2, Roy Wegerle 2, Roy Lassiter 1, Clint Mathis 1, Benny McLaughlin 1*, Ed Murphy 1*, Bruce Murray 1, Kyle Rote Jr. 1, Willy Roy 1, David Brown 0, Brian Ching 0, Aldo "Buff" Donelli 0, Frank Klopas 0, Bill Looby 0, Bert Patenaude 0, Josh Wolff 0

*These three players were not on the eligible list, but were write-in votes


Jeff Agoos (former player), Roger Allaway (historian), Bruce Arena (coach), Esse Baharmast (referee), Marcelo Balboa (former player), Roger Bennett (media), Paul Caligiuri (former player), Andres Cantor (media), Jeff Carlisle (media), Dr. Bob Contiguglia (administrator), Rick Davis (former player), Steve Davis (media), Frank Dell'Apa (media), JP Dellacamera (media), Anson Dorrance (coach), Julie Foudy (former player), Werner Fricker Jr. (administrator), Carin Gabarra (former player), Bob Gansler (former coach), Steve Goff (media), Brian Hall (referee), Mia Hamm (former player), John Harkes (former player), April Heinrichs (former player), Chris Henderson (former player), Ted Howard (administrator), Clark Hunt (administrator), Cobi Jones (former player), Grahame Jones (media), Colin Jose (historian), Michelle Kaufman (media), Paul Kennedy (media), Alfred Kleinaitis (referee), Eddie Lewis (former player), Michael Lewis (media), Bob Ley (media), Ridge Mahoney (media), Kyle Martino (former player), Brian McBride (former player), Bora Milutinovic (former coach), Len Oliver (former player), Kevin Payne (administrator), Hugo Perez (former player), Eddie Pope (former player), Tab Ramos (former player), Alan Rothenberg (administrator), Hank Steinbrecher (administrator), Rob Stone (media), Jamie Trecker (media), Jerry Trecker (media), Jim Trecker (administrator), Al Trost (former player), Peter Vermes (former player), Kelly Whiteside (media), Mike Woitalla (media), Alex Yannis (media) and Mark Ziegler (media).

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Sounder At Heart Weekly Roundup newsletter!

A twice weekly roundup of Seattle Sounders and OL Reign news from Sounder at Heart