clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Obafemi Martins wins MLS Goal of the Year

Another postseason award for Oba

Joe Nicholson-USA TODAY Sports

Obafemi Martins sees your aging unidentified fan and is thoroughly unimpressed. A day after it was announced that Martins finished second in MVP voting, he won the MLS Goal of the Year. Thanks to Seattle fans stuffing the ballot boxes, the award stays in Cascadia for the fourth consecutive season, with previous awards going to Camilo Sanvezzo, Patrick Ianni and Darlington Nagbe. Current Sounder Marco Pappa was the last player to win the award while not playing for a team from Cascadia. He won Goal of the Year in 2010.

Oba wound up winning a majority of the vote, which is significant any time there are 4 options. Here is the final vote:

  • Obafemi Martins (SEA) vs. SJE, 5/17: 51.82%
  • Will Johnson (POR) vs. VAN, 6/1: 28.23%
  • Thierry Henry (NY) vs. SKC, 9/6: 13.22%
  • Lee Nguyen (NE) vs. HOU, 10/16: 6.73%

Let's all take a moment to bask in the beauty of what is probably the most amazing goal we'll ever see from a Sounder.

San Jose goalkeeper Jon Busch was speechless when reached for comment.

Jon Busch reaction to GOTY

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Sounder At Heart Weekly Roundup newsletter!

A twice weekly roundup of Seattle Sounders and OL Reign news from Sounder at Heart