clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Lamar Neagle retroactively awarded goal against Impact

MLS and FIFA guidelines are pretty clear in how to rule a ball that deflects off the woodwork.

Lamar Neagle officially has his first goal of 2014 and his first away goal since 2011. After initially ruling Neagle's 8th minute header an own goal, MLS reversed the decision after consulting the rule book and finding this entry:

An attacker shoots the ball and it hits the post or crossbar. The ball clearly changes direction and is heading toward the field, when it strikes the goalkeeper or another defender and goes into the net.

While that may sound a bit counter-intuitive, it's actually consistent with FIFA's guidelines as well (hat tip to Seattle Times beat man Joshua Mayers who found this first).

While we can certainly argue about what was going to happen to Neagle's shot after it deflected (my theory is that it had enough backspin that it may well have ended up in the net if not for Troy Perkins' help), this seems like a fair conclusion as it helps give quantitative value to what was a very strong performance. Neagle also came close to picking up an assist -- only to have Obafemi Martins' header saved -- and hit the woodwork on another shot.

This also helps give a quantitative value to Gonzalo Pineda's performance, as he'll now be credited with an assist.

Neagle, it should be noted, was also given a retroactive assist the previous week against Toronto FC.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Sounder At Heart Weekly Roundup newsletter!

A twice weekly roundup of Seattle Sounders and OL Reign news from Sounder at Heart