clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Clint Dempsey, DeAndre Yedlin nominated for US Soccer Male Player of the Year

Dempsey is a three-time winner of the award

Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

The United States Soccer Federation announced its nominees for Male Player of the Year today, a list that includes Seattle Sounders forward Clint Dempsey and former Sounders defender DeAndre Yedlin.

Dempsey has won the award three times (2007, 2011, 2012), one short of tying Landon Donovan's tally of four. Yedlin is a first-time nominee, but won the 2014 Young Male Player of the Year award after his stellar World Cup appearances and solid MLS season before moving to Tottenham Hotspur in English Premier League.

The U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year award has been around since 1984, but the federation introduced a new voting process in 2014 that collected votes from the following: National and Youth National Team coaches and staff, MNT players who earned a cap in 2015, former players and administrators, Major League Soccer and North American Soccer League head coaches, and specific media members.

The other players nominated are: Toronto FC's Michael Bradley (third nomination), Aston Villa's Brad Guzan (first nomination), and Borussia Mönchengladbach's Fabian Johnson (second nomination).

U.S. Soccer will announce the winner of the award on Friday.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Sounder At Heart Weekly Roundup newsletter!

A twice weekly roundup of Seattle Sounders and OL Reign news from Sounder at Heart