clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Confederations Cup playoff: USA and Mexico provisional rosters released

Brad Evans, Clint Dempsey, Deandre Yedlin and Jordan Morris among the 35 players who could be called into Oct. 10 match.

Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

The one-game playoff that will determine CONCACAF's entry into the 2017 Confederations Cup could have a decidedly Seattle Sounders flavor. Current Sounders Clint Dempsey and Brad Evans, as well as academy products Jordan Morris and DeAndre Yedlin were all named to the United States' provisional 35-man roster for the Oct. 10 match against Mexico in Pasadena's Rose Bowl.

The good news is that the Sounders, as well as the vast majority of MLS teams, will have a bye week at that time. If Evans and Dempsey are called in, that wouldn't happen until after the match against the LA Galaxy on Oct. 4 and the Houston Dynamo on Oct. 18.

The 23-man rosters will need to be finalized by Oct. 1.

CONCACAF Cup 2015 Provisional 35-player rosters


GK (4) - Brad Guzan (Aston Villa / England); Bill Hamid (DC United / USA); Tim Howard (Everton / England); Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake / USA)

DF (12) - Ventura Alvarado (Club America / Mexico); DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo / USA); Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City / USA); John Brooks (Hertha Berlin / Germany); Geoff Cameron (Stoke City / England); Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC / USA); Greg Garza (Atlas / Mexico); Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy / USA); Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana / Mexico); Tim Ream (Fulham / England); Jonathan Spector (Birmingham / England); DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland / England)

MF (12) - Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake / USA); Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes / France); Michael Bradley (Toronto FC / Canada); Joe Corona (Veracruz / Mexico); Mix Diskerud (New York City FC / USA); Fabian Johnson (Borussia Monchengladbach / Germany); Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution / USA); Alfredo Morales (FC Ingolstadt / Germany); Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution / USA); Danny Williams (Reading / England); Gyasi zardes (LA Galaxy / USA); Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City / USA)

FW (7) - Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC / Canada); Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC / USA); Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy / USA); Aron Johansson (Werder Bremen / Germany); Jordan Morris (Stanford University / USA); Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes / USA); Bobby Wood (Union Berlin / Germany)


GK (4) - Guillermo Ochoa (Malaga / Spain); Moises Munoz (Club America / Mexico); Alfredo Talavera (Toluca / Mexico); Jonathan Orozco (Monterrey / Mexico)

DF (10) - Paul Aguilar (Club America / Mexico); Diego Reyes (Real Sociedad / Spain); Rafael Marquez (Hellas Verona / Italy); Hector Moreno (PSV Eindhoven / Netherlands); Miguel Layun (Porto / Portugal); Hector Herrera (Porto, Portugal); Oswaldo Alanis (Guadalajara / Mexico); Arturo Rivas (Tigres / Mexico); Miguel Herrera (Pachuca / Mexico); Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres / Mexico)

MF (9)

Israel Jimenez (Tigres / Mexico); Andres Guardado (PSV Eindhoven, Netherlands); Jose Juan Vazquez (Leon / Mexico); Jesus Duenas (Tigres / Mexico); Javier Aquino (Tigres / Mexico); Jonathan Dos Santos (Villarreal / Spain); Luis Montes (Leon / Mexico); Carlos Pena (Leon / Mexico); Javier Guemez (Club America / Mexico)

FW (9) - Oribe Peralta (Club America / Mexico); Raul Jimenez (Benfica / Portugal); Carlos Vela (Real Sociedad / Spain); Carlos Esquivel (Toluca / Mexico); Jesus Corona (Porto / Portugal); Javier Hernandez (Bayer Leverkusen / Germany); Elias Hernandez (Leon / Mexico); Jurgen Damm (Tigres / Mexico); Giovani Dos Santos (LA Galaxy / United States)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Sounder At Heart Weekly Roundup newsletter!

A twice weekly roundup of Seattle Sounders and OL Reign news from Sounder at Heart