clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Seattle Sounders 2016 schedule features brutal July

New, 115 comments

Seattle travels to Vancouver Whitecaps once and Portland Timbers twice in 2016 as they defend their Cascadia Cup title on their quest to unseat the Team from Oregon as Champions of MLS.

Major League Soccer announced their full schedule today. As usual the Seattle Sounders FC are heavily featured on national television appearing seven times on ESPN, six times on FoxSports 1 and do not appear on Univision's suite of stations. FOX, the broadcast channel, will carry a total of four MLS matches, all with a 30 minute lead-in programs. One of those is Seattle's trip to Portland on July 17th, a noon start.

That leaves 20 games on local partner Q13 and JoeTV.

The season kicks off on March 6th at 4 PM Pacific against Sporting Kansas City on FoxSports1 and FoxSports Deportes. That Sunday is a triple header on ESPN, FS1 and UniMas/UDN. The Sounders' regular-season ends with Real Salt Lake on Decision Day. Every league match will start at 1 PM Pacific on October 23rd.

Your season ticket already includes every home game as well as the 1st leg of the CONCACAF Champions League game against Club America on February 23rd. That 7 PM Pacific match will be on FS1.

For the first time ever the traveling fans will head to Orlando City SC to watch the Lions and enjoy many a theme park. That trip is on August 7th at 4 PM and will air on FS1.

MLS has set up "Rivalry Week" on May 20-22 and August 26-28. The Sounders face the Rapids (huh) and the Timbers (duh). That Timbers game is on the road after a midweek trip to Houston, which sucks. The Sounders also host the Timbers the previous Sunday, making for an absolutely brutal week.

Based on last year's results, the Sounders have the third toughest schedule. July may be their toughest month, as they'll make up for a light June (three matches) by playing six, including road games against Toronto FC, Timbers and Sporting KC. Their home games are against FC Dallas and two against the LA Galaxy. That's a stretch that could come to define their season.

The Sounders have five Wednesday games, with three at home, which may have been a way to keep them playing on as many FIFA dates as they have previously.

On the major Summer holidays Seattle finds themselves playing;

  • Memorial Day - at New England at 4:30 PM Pacific (this is a change from the original story)
  • Fourth of July - heading to Toronto on Saturday July 2nd with a start time to be determined.
  • Labor Day - Sounders are off this weekend.

The league is taking the Group Stage (June 3rd to 16th) of the 2016 Centennial Copa America off, but if the United States or Paraguay advance the Sounders may be without the services of Clint Dempsey, Brad Evans and Nelson Haedo Valdez against Red Bull on the 19th and New York City on the 25th. The only other Sounders match scheduled during a FIFA date is the June 1 match at D.C. United.

There are six home game during the Seahawks season. Two of these are during preseason and the other four are during the regular season, but one is on a Wednesday so the line worry should be minimal.

The full schedule follows;

2016 SOUNDERS FC MLS REGULAR SEASON SCHEDULE

DAY DATE OPPONENT KICKOFF (PT) / NATIONAL TV
Sunday March 6 Sporting Kansas City 4:00 p.m. / FS1
Saturday March 12 at Real Salt Lake 1:00 p.m.
Saturday March 19 Vancouver 7:00 p.m.
Saturday April 2 Montreal 7:00 p.m.
Sunday April 10 at Houston 1:00 p.m. / ESPN
Saturday April 16 Philadelphia 7:00 p.m.
Saturday April 23 at Colorado 6:00 p.m.
Saturday April 30 Columbus 1:00 p.m.
Saturday May 7 San Jose 7:00 p.m.
Saturday May 14 at FC Dallas 6:00 p.m.
Saturday May 21 Colorado 7:00 p.m.
Saturday May 28 at New England 4:30 p.m.
Wednesday June 1 at D.C. United 5:00 p.m.
Sunday June 19 at New York Red Bulls 4:30 p.m. / FS1
Saturday June 25 New York City FC 2:00 p.m. / ESPN
Saturday July 2 at Toronto TBD
Saturday July 9 LA Galaxy 12:00 p.m. / ESPN
Wednesday July 13 FC Dallas 7:30 p.m.
Sunday July 17 at Portland 12:00 p.m. / FOX
Sunday July 24 at Sporting Kansas City 12:00 p.m. / ESPN
Sunday July 31 LA Galaxy 1:00 p.m. / ESPN
Sunday August 7 at Orlando City 4:00 p.m. / FS1
Sunday August 14 Real Salt Lake 4:00 p.m. / FS1
Sunday August 21 Portland 6:30 p.m. / FS1
Wednesday August 24 at Houston TBD
Sunday August 28 at Portland 2:00 p.m. / ESPN
Saturday September 10 at San Jose 7:30 p.m.
Saturday September 17 Vancouver 1:00 p.m.
Sunday September 25 at LA Galaxy TBD / ESPN
Wednesday September 28 Chicago 7:30 p.m.
Sunday October 2 at Vancouver 5:00 p.m. / FS1
Wednesday October 12 Houston 7:30 p.m.
Sunday October 16 at FC Dallas 4:00 p.m.
Sunday October 23 Real Salt Lake 1:00 p.m.