It’s not very often that a player corrects a referee in order to get a call to go against his team. But, according to referee Ricardo Salazar, that’s exactly what Jordan Morris did in Saturday’s game against the San Jose Earthquakes.
The play in question came in the 28th minute when Nico Lodeiro sent in a cross to Morris at the near post. Morris was closely marked by Fatai Alashe and at full speed, it does look like it could have come off the defender. Certainly, it was at least close enough that no one aside from Alashe and Morris knew for certain who hit it.
This is the kind of call that referees miss frequently, often multiple times in a game. We can all find examples of plays like this costing teams goals. Who knows what happens if Morris doesn’t correct Salazar?
Still, you have to at least hope that Salazar going public with this at least buys Morris the benefit of the doubt the next time. It certainly can’t hurt, right?