clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2020 Reign FC schedule announced

Two mid-week matches and one Friday night match, plus two trips to Portland

MikeRussellFoto

Mark your calendars for Reign FC’s second season at Cheney Stadium, with the full 2020 NWSL schedule finally available. The Tacoma side starts the year with their first two games on the road, but closes with three of the final four at home.

Similar to last season, this year’s schedule includes a one-week break for the Olympic games, pushing the end of the season to mid-October. Reign FC will have two mid-week home games and one Friday evening match, with the remainder of their Cheney Stadium dates falling on the weekend. With each team playing the other clubs three times, the home/away splits have been reversed from last year, meaning that the Reign will host Portland Thorns once, on August 29, and travel to Portland twice – May 16 and June 12.

The weekend of May 16/17 is a SeaTac/Portland double-header, with the Reign facing the Thorns on the road on the 16th and the Sounders also traveling to play the Timbers at Providence Park on May 17. Looks like we should all start planning a long weekend in Portland.

There are seven dates where there are potential Sounders/Reign schedule conflicts:

  • May 9 — both teams are at home, with the Reign game at 4 PM and the Sounders game at 7 PM
  • May 23 — the Reign are at home at 4 PM, while the Sounders are on the road at 5:30 PM
  • May 27 — both teams are at home, with the Reign kicking off at 7 PM and the Sounders at 7:30 PM
  • June 27 — both teams are at home, with the Sounders game at 2 PM and the Reign at 5:30 PM
  • Sep. 13 — the Reign are at Sky Blue at 2 PM, while the Sounders have a 3:30 PM home game
  • Sep. 26 — the Sounders are in Colorado at 6 PM while the Reign are at home at 7 PM
  • Oct. 4 — both teams are at home, with the Reign kicking off at 1 PM and the Sounders at 1:30 PM

The Reign have announced four themed matches — a Military Appreciation Match on May 23 against the Spirit, Women’s Equality Day Celebration on Aug. 26 against the Dash, a Breast Cancer Awareness Match on Oct. 4 against the Courage, and their annual Fan Appreciation Day at the regular season home finale on Oct. 18 against the Spirit.

News about domestic and international broadcasts is expected in the coming weeks, with all indications that CBS and Twitch will be airing matches domestically.

The full schedule is as follows:

2020 Reign FC schedule

Day Date Time Opponent Location
Day Date Time Opponent Location
Sat. Apr 18 10 AM @ Washington Spirit Audi Field, Washington DC
Sun. Apr 26 2 PM @ Sky Blue FC Red Bull Arena, Harrison NJ
Sun. May 3 1 PM Chicago Red Stars Cheney Stadium
Sat. May 9 4 PM NC Courage Cheney Stadium
Sat. May 16 1:30 PM @ Portland Thorns Providence Park, Portland OR
Sat. May 23 4 PM Washington Spirit Cheney Stadium
Wed. May 27 7 PM Utah Royals FC Cheney Stadium
Fri. June 12 7 PM @ Portland Thorns Providence Park, Portland OR
Fri. June 19 7 PM Orlando Pride Cheney Stadium
Sat. June 27 5:30 PM Sky Blue FC Cheney Stadium
Sat. July 4 4:30 PM @ NC Courage WakeMed Soccer Park, Cary NC
Sun. July 12 2 PM @ Orlando Pride Exploria Stadium, Orlando FL
Sun. July 19 4 PM @ Houston Dash BBVA Stadium, Houston TX
Sun. Aug 2 4 PM Chicago Red Stars Cheney Stadium
Sat. Aug 8 4 PM @ Utah Royals FC Rio Tinto Stadium, Sandy UT
Fri. Aug 21 4 PM @ Orlando Pride Exploria Stadium, Orlando FL
Wed. Aug 26 7 PM Houston Dash Cheney Stadium
Sat. Aug 29 12 PM Portland Thorns Cheney Stadium
Sun. Sep 6 3 PM @ Chicago Red Stars SeatGeek Stadium, Bridgeview IL
Sun. Sep 13 2 PM @ Sky Blue FC Red Bull Arena, Harrison NJ
Sat. Sep 26 7 PM Houston Dash Cheney Stadium
Sun. Oct 4 1 PM NC Courage Cheney Stadium
Wed. Oct 7 6:30 PM @ Utah Royals FC Rio Tinto Stadium, Sandy UT
Sun. Oct 18 12:30 PM Washington Spirit Cheney Stadium

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Sounder At Heart Weekly Roundup newsletter!

A twice weekly roundup of Seattle Sounders and OL Reign news from Sounder at Heart