Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator Skip to content

Obed Vargas named to USA's Olympics training camp

Sounders midfielder is the youngest player named to the roster.

Last Updated
1 min read
Max Aquino / Sounder at Heart

Obed Vargas was among the 23 players named to the United States' training camp roster ahead of the 2024 Paris Summer Olympics. The 18-year-old is the youngest player at the training camp, one of just three who featured in the U20 World Cup earlier this year and one of three who is also eligible for the 2028 Summer Olympics.

During the training camp, the USA will face Mexico on Oct. 11 and Japan on Oct. 17 at Phoenix Rising Stadium in Arizona. The Sounders' next match is on Oct. 21 against St. Louis City.

The USA men will be competing in the Olympics for the first time since 2008. The tournament is mostly reserved for U23s, with three overage players allowed.

About half of the roster – 12 to be exact – are based in MLS, with the rest playing in a variety of European circuits. Among the roster are nine players with senior national team experience, with Gianluca Busio being the most experienced with 13 caps.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Christopher Brady (Chicago Fire FC; Naperville, Ill.), John Pulskamp (Sporting KC; Bakersfield, Calif.), Patrick Schulte (Columbus Crew; St. Charles, Mo.)

DEFENDERS (6): Maximilian Dietz (SpVgg Greuther Furth/GER; Frankfurt, Germany), Nathan Harriel (Philadelphia Union; Oldsmar, Fla.), Bryan Reynolds (Westerlo/BEL; Fort Worth, Texas), John Tolkin (New York Red Bulls; Chatham, N.J.), Jonathan Tomkinson (Bradford City/ENG; Plano, Texas), Caleb Wiley (Atlanta United FC; Atlanta, Ga.)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Paxten Aaronson (Eintracht Frankfurt/GER; Medford, N.J.), Gianluca Busio (Venezia/ITA; Greensboro, N.C.), Benjamin Cremaschi (Inter Miami CF; Key Biscayne, Fla.), Jack McGlynn (Philadelphia Union; Queens, N.Y.), Aidan Morris (Columbus Crew; Ft Lauderdale, Fla.), Tanner Tessmann (Venezia/ITA; Birmingham, Ala.), Obed Vargas (Seattle Sounders FC; Anchorage, Alaska)

FORWARDS (7): Esmir Bajraktarevic (New England Revolution; Appleton, Wisc.), Taylor Booth (Utrecht/NED; Eden, Utah), Johan Gomez (Eintracht Braunschweig/GER; Keller, Texas), Brian Gutierrez (Chicago Fire FC; Chicago, Ill.), Bernard Kamungo (FC Dallas; Abilene, Texas), Duncan McGuire (Orlando City SC; Omaha, Neb.), Indiana Vassilev (St. Louis City SC; Savannah, Ga.)